Accession NumberAccession DateLinked ResourcesResource TypeTitleExtent NumberContainer SummaryDate ExpressionAcquisition TypeRetention RuleDescriptionConditionInventoryDisposition NoteExternal Documents
TitleDate ExpressionLanguageLevelResource IdentifierExtentContainer SummaryAccrualsArrangementBiographical/Historical NoteConditions Governing AccessConditions Governing UseCustodial HistoryExistence and Location of CopiesExistence and Location of OriginalsLanguage of MaterialsPhysical Characteristics and Technical RequirementsPreferred CitationProcessing InformationRelated Archival MaterialsScope and ContentsSeparated MaterialsEAD FA Unique IdentifierFinding Aid TitleDescription RulesFinding Aid StatusCollection InventoryInstances and Locations
PersonCorporate BodyFamily
Genre/FormGeographic NameOccupationTopical Term
Descriptive MetadataPhotograph Small Collections MetadataIndiana Bridge Company MetadataBall State University Campus Photographs MetadataRoger Conatser Metadata
This is the "Home" page of the "Archives and Special Collections Processing Manual" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives and Special Collections Processing Manual  

Staff and student manual for accessioning, processing, and developing finding aids for Ball State University Archives and Special Collections resources.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2013 URL: http://bsu.libguides.com/processing Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

About Archives and Special Collections

The mission of Archives and Special Collections is to collect, preserve, and provide access to archival and printed materials that support the research and instructional needs of students, faculty, national and international scholars, and the general public.

 

Introduction

The Archives and Special Collections Processing Manual outlines processing procedures for archival collections using Archivists' Toolkit (AT), an open source archival data management system. Learn more about the Archivists' Toolkit. Archives and Special Collections follows descriptive standards presented in Describing Archives: A Content Standard (DACS). DACS is an output-neutral set of rules for describing organizational records, personal papers, and manuscript collections, and is endorsed by the Society of American Archivists.

The Archivists' Toolkit not only generates Accession, Resource, Subject, and Name records, it also creates Encoded Archival Description (EAD) finding aids in HTML and PDF formats. EAD is a non-proprietary de facto standard for the encoding of finding aids for use in a networked (online) environment. Learn more about EAD by visiting the Society of American Archivists' EAD Roundtable's Help Pages. For EAD tag libraries and crosswalk information visit the Library of Congress's Encoded Archival Description Version 2002 Official Site.

Use the Accessions, Resources, Subjects, and Names tabs to learn more about creating records in the Archivists' Toolkit.

The manual also provides guidelines for entering item level Dublin Core metadata for still images, including print photographs, negatives, and slides, in the Still Images database. For more complete information about our metadata standards, review Cardinal Core: Metadata Template and Instructions.

Use the Still Images tab to learn more about creating records in the Still Images database.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip