Librarian Profile
Kevin Brooks
Contact:
kbrooks2@bsu.edu
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
765-285-1118
Related Subject Guides
- SciTech LibGuidesLibrary subject guides pertaining to science, technology, or health science.
Course-Specific & Special Resources
- Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination Videos>NOTE: DO NOT USE @BSU.EDU IN YOUR USERNAME WHEN LOGGING IN<
This is a video series published by Lippincott, Williams, and Wilkins which demonstrates physical examination skills. Includes step-by-step demonstrations of appropriate examination techniques for each specific body system covered (e.g. abdomen, breast and axillae, neck vessels and heart, head, eyes, and ears, motor system and reflexes, etc.). Provides rationales as well as detailed explanations
for every procedure. - Human anatomy subject guideGuide to resources at Ball State and online.
- Nurse Theorists: Portraits of Excellence / Excellence in Action--click on “Take me to my subscriptions”
--don't use browser "back" button
This resource explores the life work and stories of 16 innovative women who are widely regarded as nursing's premier scholars. Each program featuring a modern theorist includes video interviews in which the theorist discusses her life, the evolution of her work and its impact on nursing practice and education. The CD, DVD and Online versions of the programs also contain a bibliography of the theorists' writings and a resource list of helpful websites and organizations.
Useful Links
A selection of useful websites and databases that offer a reliable foundation for launching research in biology and the life sciences. Some are managed outside of Ball State network.
- FirstGov for ScienceLinks to U.S. government science websites.
- Information Literacy Framwork from the ACRLAssociation of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) website about information literacy including definitions, standards and guidelines, bibliographies, and professional activities and organizations.
- MedBioWorldProvides 25,000 links to journals, associations, and databases.
- Nursing Times.netProvides information on nursing jobs. Also provides access to online forums for nurses.
- VIrginia Henderson National Nursing LibraryThe Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library is the realization of Sigma Theta Tau International’s goal to offer nurses, in all roles around the globe, online access to reliable nursing information that can be easily utilized and shared. The ultimate goal is to make the library one of the most comprehensive resources for nursing information available.
Nursing Divisions
Nursing can be divided into six main specialty areas:
- Community Health Nursing:
- Care for the whole population through individual, family, and group care.
- Geriatric Nursing:
- Care to elderly adults.
- Maternal-Child Nursing:
- Care of infants, children, and their introduction into their families.
- Medical-Surgical Nursing:
- Care of adults treated pharmacologically or surgically.
- Nursing Diagnosis:
- Concerned with compiling and managing information about potential problems in patient health status.
- Pediatric Nursing:
- Focuses on the care of infants and children.
Nursing materials are located mainly in the Science-Health Science Library but can be found additionally in Bracken in General Collection, Microforms, Bound Periodicals, and Reference.
Consult the School of Nursing for more information on their programs.