LibGuides: Civil War Resources in Archives and Special Collections: Manuscript Collections

Manuscript Collections

By action of the Board of Trustees in 1979, the collection of local history materials at Archives and Special Collections was named after Althea L. Stoeckel, Ball State University Professor of History from 1960-1978. These collections contain a wealth of materials concerning Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana, including numerous collections documenting the Civil War period in Muncie and Delaware county. The following are descriptions of these relevant collections with links to online finding aids.

Civil War Records, Delaware County (MSS 280)
Collection includes records documenting the soldiers who served in the Civil War from Delaware County, Indiana. Types include muster rolls, bounty records, relief requests, veteran’s enrollments, expense records, and discharge certificates.
Richard A. Greene Collection, 1945-1983 (MSS 1)
Collection includes all of Greene’s newspaper columns, which appeared in the Muncie Star from 1945-1983. It also includes history files subject files with several documents related to the Civil War, military service and the Grand Army of the Republic.
Cassady-Nelson Family Papers, 1759-1961 (MSS 23)
Collection includes letters, diaries, and other documents of D.W. (Derastus) Nelson, who fought in the Civil War.
more...less...
Digitized copies of the letters and transcripts are available online in the U.S. Civil War Resources of East Central Indiana collection in the Digital Media Repository (http://libx.bsu.edu/)
Althea Stoeckel Collection, 1954-1979 (MSS 39)
Collection includes Stoeckel's administrative, pamphlet and subject files which cover a wide variety topics. The pamphlet and subject files include documents on specific subjects in Indiana history, including the Civil War.
Caldwell, High, and Meeker Families Papers, 1823-1928; 1836-1883; 1857-1928; 1862 (MSS 66)
Collection includes the correspondence of three Indiana families, the Meekers, Caldwells, and Highs.
G.W. H. Kemper Papers, 1859-1919 (MSS 20)
Collection includes the papers of Dr. Kemper, a prominent doctor in Muncie, Indiana and veteran of the Civil War. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence between Dr. Kemper and his wife Hattie Kemper during the Civil War.
more...less...
Digitized copies of the letters and transcripts are available online in the U.S. Civil War Resources of East Central Indiana collection in the Digital Media Repository (http://libx.bsu.edu/)
Ryan, Stradling, Shirey, Puntenny, and Tuhey Family Papers, 1853-1914 (MSS 127)
Collection includes newspaper clippings, funeral notices, and genealogical data on the family. Also included are the letters written by John D. Stradling during the Civil War.
Clarence E. Benadum Papers (MSS 187)
Collection includes original manuscripts of Benadum’s writings. Included in the collection is the manuscript for Bates House, his best-known book. It tells the story of life on the home front in Indiana during the Civil War.
more...less...
The published version of the book is also available (Call number PS 3503.E48 B3).
19th Indiana Volunteer Infantry Re-enactors Collection, 1997-2001 (MSS 196)
Collection includes the newsletters of the 19th Indiana Company A., The Swamphog Gazette, from 1999 to the present as well as a civilian newsletter titled Dear Friends and Gentle Hearts.
Wiley W. Spurgeon Papers, 1857-2001 (MSS 211)
Collections includes articles and columns by Wiley W. Spurgeon, his research subject files, correspondence and historical materials given to him by Delaware County residents. Included is a subject file on the 19th Indiana Civil War Regiment reunion, 1913.
Philander Smith Papers, 1863-1866 (MSS 216/PSC 225)
Collection includes correspondence, a diary, photographs ,other papers documenting his service in the Civil War. Smith was from Greenfield, Indiana and a member of Company B of the 8th Indiana Volunteer Infantry.
more...less...
Digitized copies of the letters and transcripts are available online in the U.S. Civil War Resources of East Central Indiana collection in the Digital Media Repository (http://libx.bsu.edu/)
Patricia Taylor Clipping Collection (MSS 226)
Collection includes newspaper clippings and publications, as well as handwritten notes, collected by local area resident Patricia Taylor. Included are newspaper clippings related to Civil War history.
Sarah E. McVicker Papers, 1862-1875 (MSS 276/PSC 332)
Collection includes correspondence between Sarah E. McVicker of Eaton, Indiana and her brother as well as other soldiers from Delaware County. PSC 332 includes a photograph of Sarah E. McVicker.
more...less...
Digitized copies of the letters and transcripts are available online in the U.S. Civil War Resources of East Central Indiana collection in the Digital Media Repository (http://libx.bsu.edu/)
Solomon Rice Civil War Correspondence, 1857-1884 (MSS 366)
This collection includes correspondence and other records ranging from 1857 to 1884 relating to the Solomon Rice family of Cass County, Indiana. Most of the letters in this collection were exchanged between Solomon Rice and his wife, Hannah Rice. A smaller portion of the collection includes letters to Mattie Rice from her family and friends. Also includes a photograph of Solomon and Hannah Rice.
Lt. William H. Murray Civil War Collection (OVA 109)
Collection includes a muster-in roll and clothing roster from the Civil War.

Small Manuscript Collections

The Stoeckel Archives of Local History Materials contains small manuscript collections of one or two folders of items as well as the larger manuscript collections described in the guide. The following is a list of the small collections related to African Americans in Muncie and Delaware County.

Muncie Moose Lodge Collection, 1953 (SC 61)
Demaree Letters (SC 108)
Baldwin, Enos. “Memories of the Civil War period…at Montpelier, Indiana,” 1979 (SC 114)
Cecil Beeson Collection, 1974-1994 (SC 140)
J.W. Brant Civil War diary, 1862-1863 (SC 171)
George H. Robinson Collection [last living Civil War veteran in Delaware County] (SC 299)
Robert S. Davis Family Papers, 1863-1906 (SC 323)
Women’s Relief Corps/Circle of Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic/Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War (SC 472)
Civil War Poster Collection (SC 508)
Civil War Military Discharge Letters, 1864, 1865, 1884, 1919 (SC 570)
Galbreath, James H., Death Certificate (SC 592)
Hamilton Township Volunteers List (SC 628)
Louis P. Everett military records
Silas Covalt Biography and Military Service Certificate (SC 003)

Additional Manuscript Resources

Local History Files by subject (African-Americans; Black History; Underground Railroad, etc.). Contains newspaper clippings, student papers, and other documentation gathered in subject files.
The Daily Citizen. J.M. Swords, proprietor. Vicksburg, Miss., 1863. [reprint of Confederate newspaper] (OVC 27)
The Chattanooga Daily Rebel, Franc. M. Paul, publisher. Chattanooga, Tenn., August 9, 1862. [Confederate newspaper] (OVC 28)