This is the "Find Background Information" page of the "ENG 104: Library Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 104: Library Resources  

A guide for ENG 104 students, introducing library resources and how to find them.
Last Updated: May 5, 2009 URL: http://bsu.libguides.com/104 Print Guide

Find Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

More General Reference Resources Online

These are just some of the titles available as part of the Ball State University Libraries' reference collection.  To find many more titles, including books you can check-out from the Bracken Library general collection, search CardCat.
  • CIA World Factbook  
      
    Find geographic and population information for every country in the world using this online resource (linked above). BSU users can access a more interactive version through Credo Reference (http://www.credoreference.com/).
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. This is a great resource for generating topic ideas.
  • Dictionary.com  
      
    This website allows you to search for definitions of terms, and also shows examples of word usage.
  • Oxford English Dictionary  
      
    This scholarly dictionary includes definitions and etymology of over 600,000 words. The print version is also available in the Reference Collection at PE1625 .O87.
  • Penguin Encyclopedia of Places  
      
    Find geographic information, including location and population statistics.
  • ReferenceUSA  
      
    Addresses and phone numbers for over 126 million homes and businesses in the United States and Canada.
  • World Almanac and Book of Facts  
      
    Published annually, recording events of the previous year. Print versions are available in the Reference Collection at AY67.N5 W6 (1923 - present). Online editions of the book (since 2000) are available through the Academic Search Premier database.
 

Reference Resources in Bracken

Use CardCat Advanced Search to look for books just in the Location: Reference Collection.


In the Reference Collection you'll find dictionaries, encyclopedias, and statistical data on a variety of topics.

Reference books help give you a broad overview of a topic and can point you to futher resources.


See the Find Books tab to learn how to use the Advanced Search in CardCat.

Reference Resource: Searchable, Online Collections (like Wikipedia, only better!)

These are just some of the titles available as part of the Ball State University Libraries' reference collection.  To find many more titles, including books you can check-out from the Bracken Library general collection, search CardCat.
  • Credo Reference  
      
    Includes many online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works. Search the full-text of these online books, or use the concept map to explore your topic.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Includes over 20 specialized encyclopedias; search for and print the information you need.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    Online reference books, including general works, foreign-language works, and specialized subject works in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Over 200 titles are included.

Librarian

Profile Image
Lisa Jarrell
Contact Info
Office: BL 102 F
Ph: 765-285-5356
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip