This is the "Home" page of the "History, Local" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History, Local  Tags: history local_history genealogy subjectsocialscience hist  

Resources in Local History at Ball State University Libraries. You can access this guide directly by going to http://bsu.libguides.com/localhist
Last update: Jan 18th, 2010 URL: http://bsu.libguides.com/localhist  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Not finging what you're looking for?

Try using WorldCat

WorldCat allows users to search library collections in Muncie and around the world. You can gain acess to books, articles and other materials not available at BSU Libraries through WorldCat.

Wondering how you're going to get a book from  Timbuktu? Remeber as a student or faculty member at BSU you have the ability to request materials from all over the globe through our Interlibrary Loan service!

 
 

Welcome!

This guide will help you locate resources for topics related to local history. Explore the tabs above to find recommended resources.

For additional resources, visit your local library or historical association. Ask for books written about the region, as well as for other research collections, such as manuscripts or photographs.

For local history of Muncie and Delaware County, the Archives and Special Collections (Bracken Library, room 210) contains many sources, some of which are not included in CardCat. These sources include records and personal papers related to local families, businesses, churches, and organizations, as well as a newspaper-clippings file on local subjects and a large collection of historical photographs. Ask for assistance from Archives personnel to access these resources.

Use our guide entitled How to Find Genealogical Materials in Bracken Library. It lists additional sources, such as maps for towns and counties.

Lost? Confused? All mixed up and don't know what to do?

 Please feel free to Ask a Librarian!

Getting Started

Try starting your search in CardCat and Academic Search Premier to locate books, articles and other materials related to your topic.

  • CardCat  
      
    Search the University Libraries' collections for books and other materials.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Search for articles from magazines and journals in a variety of subject areas.

CardCat Sample Searches

CardCat is Ball State’s catalog of library materials, available at www.bsu.edu/library.

1. Type Local History or type United States History Local
2. Select Begins with
3. Select Subject from the drop-down menu
Perform the Local History search
Perform the United States History Local search

1. Type [City Name] and History or type [State Name] and County and History
2. Select Keyword
3. Select Words or Phrase from the drop-down menu
Perform the Inclusion and Special Needs 
search
Perform the Blind and Teaching search

      
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageMeggan Houlihan


    Contact Info:
    Bracken Library 102C
    Phone: (765) 285-3325
    Send Email

    Hey you! Bracken Library is on Facebook!

    Become our friend on Facebook and get the lastest updates about Bracken Library!

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait