Librarian Profile
Kevin Brooks
Contact:
kbrooks2@bsu.edu
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
765-285-1118
Gluten & Gluten-free Diets
What is gluten? What does a gluten-free diet really do?
Fictions / Facts about gluten and gluten-free diets:
- Gluten is a complex sugar [FACT: Gluten is a naturally occurring protein found in many grains; it is NOT an animal protein]
- Glutinous rice has gluten in it [FACT: “glutinous” refers to the sticky consistency of this rice]
- All grains have gluten [FACT: buckwheat, rice, and oats (if not contaminated by wheat or barley), for example, have little or no gluten]
- Gluten-free diets will help you lose weight [FACT: no studies support this assertion to date; they are known to help only people with coeliac disease and gluten sensitivity/allergies]
Follow the links below to find out more and do your own research.
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals from the fields of behavioral genetics, biochemistry, child and adolescent psychology, environmental health, medical law, and microbiology. Most of the 100 plus journals in this database are available in cover-to-cover pdf's.
- Gluten Intolerance Group: Support GroupsGIG Support Group Branches and Generation GF Groups are found in multiple locations and allow you to connect with others in your local gluten-free community. Through events, fundraisers, and group meetings, our GIG Branches and Generation GF Groups will allow you to become more involved in the promotion and advocacy of the gluten-free lifestyle.
- Health Databases from Ball State University LibrariesA list of health- & medicine-related databases filtered from the comprehensive database list. Includes CINAHL, Medline, HealthSource, ProQuest Nursing, etc. For specific databases, see the "Finding Articles" tab on this LibGuide.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMedline is the premier index of medical journal articles from the US National Library of Medicine. This version is available from EBSCO through a BSU Libraries subscription.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowGreat resource for finding dependable (and free) medical information on the Internet. This database does not index journal articles, and is intended for the general public, not for health professionals. Also available in Spanish.
- SciFindern This link opens in a new windowOnline Chemical Abstracts and fulltext articles database. Includes chemical structure drawing component. Accessible only from the SHSL webpage.
- Sport Discus with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowKey database for sports medicine, physical education, and physical therapy. Provides abstracts and citations for journals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Indexes over 2,000 journals.