Reference Sources
Online Reference Databases
Reference sources are designed to provide users with quick and authoritative background information on a given subject. They are the ideal place to familiarize yourself with a subject and its existing literature, although they should never be the culmination of your research process. The following reference sources are all available online, although log-in might be required off-campus.
Reference Databases, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries:
- Encyclopedia of Education, Second Edition This encyclopedia edited by James W. Guthrie and available through Gale eBooks offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. It features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods. 8 volumes.
- Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology Edited by Neil J. Salkind and Kristin Rasmussen, this two-volume encyclopedia published in 2008 provides an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of educational psychology, including topics in categories such as human learning and development (across the life span), motivation, measurement and statistics, and curriculum and teaching.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) ERIC (EBSCOhost) is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
- ERIC (ProQuest) ERIC (ProQuest) is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
- ERIC: Education Resource Information Center ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is a government platform which provides access to education literature and research. Although this free version is not a full text database, the full text of many ERIC documents is available. Additionally, authors of more than 400,000 documents have granted free access in pdf format. Also see the subscription versions indexed by EBSCOhost and ProQuest which search this same content and provide more access to the full text of articles.
- Gale eBooks Gale eBooks is a collection of searchable subject encyclopedias and reference books from Gale Publishing and many other publishers, including nearly 500 specialized background sources in a wide variety of subjects. Choose your field of study under the "Subjects" heading to see the titles in your area. For music books, look under the subject "Arts."
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online provides electronic access to the award winning print resource of the same name. It contains more than 700 articles contributed by experts on the music of the world's peoples and is over 9,000 pages long. The database, which includes all illustrations from the print edition, also includes audio examples of musical performances from around the world.
- Oxford Dictionary of Education, Second Edition Available through Oxford Reference Online, this UK-focused dictionary by Susan Wallace provides clear and concise definitions for the terms that anyone studying education or working in the field is likely to encounter – from A* to zero tolerance. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods in Education This encyclopedia edited by George W. Noblit and available through Oxford Reference Online has brought together scholars from across the globe who use qualitative methods in their research to address the history, current uses, adaptations for specific knowledge domains and situations, and problematics that drive the methodology. This is the most comprehensive resource available on qualitative methods in education. For novice researchers, the Encyclopedia enables a broad view of the methods and how to enact them in the studies that early-career researchers may wish to conduct. For the experienced researcher, the range of approaches and adaptations covered enables the development of sophisticated methodological designs. For those who are qualitative research methodologists, this book reveals where the methodology has come from and where it is going. Methodologists can use these volumes to discern where new ideas and practices are needed, and provide the bases for new methodological works. For those who teach these methods, the Encyclopedia is an invaluable compendium that can be tapped for inclusion in courses and to enable the instructor to be able to quickly respond to specific student needs with high-quality methodological resources.
- Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online is the authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe. It is the gateway to Grove Music Online which compiles invaluable resources like The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Second Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2013), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), and others. Oxford Music Online also provides access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2013) and The Oxford Companion to Music (2011), resources which are based in Oxford Reference Online.
- Oxford Reference Online Searchable and browsable collection of highly trusted reference books. Dictionaries and encyclopedias in Oxford Reference Online include general works, foreign-language works, and specialized subject works in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Note: Oxford Reference Online is separate from the familiar Oxford Music Online, and it has its own set of twelve music dictionaries and encyclopedias. These can be found under the Subject tab or through the search bar.
Specific Entries of Interest:
- "Colwell, Richard J(ames)" at Oxford Music Online Brief entry on American educator Richard Colwell written by Jere T. Humphreys. Includes links to Colwell's writings which might be of their own interest.
- "Music Education" in the Encyclopedia of Education Brief overview of topics in the field of music education by Richard Colwell and Carlos Xavier Rodriguez. Bibliographical references included.
- "Music Education, Philosophy of" at Oxford Music Online By Marie McCarthy and J. Scott Goble. Bibliographical references included.
- "Music Education, Sociology of" at Oxford Music Online By Hildegard Froehlich and Lucy Green. Bibliographical references included.
- "Music Education in the United States" at Oxford Music Online By Richard Colwell, James W. Pruett, Pamela Bristah, and David G. Woods. Bibliographical references included.
- "Schools" at Oxford Music Online By Charles Plummeridge. List of academic journals and bibliographical references included. In particular, see Section 4 "Contemporary Issues" for discussion of term "music education."
Print Reference Books
Most reference books in music education are located in ranges 31 through 33 of the print Music Collection and follow regular circulation policies. Others are set aside in General Reference (1 West) and Music Reference, so that they are always available to Libraries users. The recommended books below are sorted by their call numbers. Hover over the info icon to see a description of the book.
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
Research design can be daunting for all types of researchers. At its heart it might be described as a formalized approach toward problem solving, thinking, and acquiring knowledge--the success of which depends upon clearly defined objectives and appropriate choice of statistical tools, tests, and analysis to meet a project's objectives.Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design elucidates how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results. Two additional features carry this encyclopedia far above other works in the field: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results. The Encyclopedia of Research Design is the perfect instrument for new learners as well as experienced researchers to explore both the original and newest branches of the field.
Call Number: HA29 .E49 2010 (General Reference)Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of Music Education: A Handbook of Terminology by Call Number: MT1 .E49 2005 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2005
Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music Educators National Conference by
Edited by Richard Colwell (Boston University) and prepared under the auspices of the Music Educators National Conference, this valuable reference handbook is the first comprehensive guide to research on music teaching and learning. Consisting of 55 accessible essays that draw upon the expertise of American, British, and Canadian scholars, the volume is organized into eight sections: (1) "A Conceptual Framework for Music Education Research," (2) "Research Modes and Techniques," (3) "Evaluation," (4) "Perception and Cognition," (5) "Teaching and Learning Strategies," (6) "The Teaching of Specific Musical Skills and Knowledge in Different Instructional Settings," (7) "Schools/Curriculum," and (8) "Social and Institutional Contexts." The handbook is a welcome addition to the literature on music education because it serves to provide definition and unity to a broad and complex field. Although not intended as an exhaustive resource, it will be an important reference work for upper-division undergraduate and graduate students in music education as well as for experienced teachers and arts administrators.
Call Number: MT1 .H138 1992 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1992
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning (AKA "The Purple Book") by
Featuring chapters by the world's foremost scholars in music education and cognition, this handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs. The original Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning, published in 1992 with the sponsorship of the Music Educators National Conference (MENC), was hailed as "a welcome addition to the literature on music education because it serves to provide definition and unity to a broad and complex field" (Choice). This new companion volume, again with the sponsorship of MENC, explores the significant changes in music and arts education that have taken place in the last decade. Notably, several chapters now incorporate insights from other fields to shed light on multi-cultural music education, gender issues in music education, and non-musical outcomes of music education. Other chapters offer practical information on maintaining musicians' health, training music teachers, and evaluating music education programs. Philosophical issues, such as musical cognition, the philosophy of research theory, curriculum, and educating musically, are also explored in relationship to policy issues. In addition to surveying the literature, each chapter considers the significance of the research and provides suggestions for future study. Covering a broad range of topics and addressing the issues of music education at all age levels, from early childhood to motivation and self-regulation, this handbook is an invaluable resource for music teachers, researchers, and scholars.
Call Number: MT1 .H138 2002 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 2002
MENC Handbook of Research Methodologies by
Combining key selections from the classic MENC Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning (Schirmer, 1992) and the widely acclaimed New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning (Oxford, 2002), the MENC Handbook of Research Methodologies presents comprehensive coverage of the most important issues in music education research in a handy and accessible format. A distinguished team of internationally recognized experts offers cogent and concise insights that provide readers with up-to-date information and references. The volume covers the most important topics in this field, including the role of research in music education, philosophical, historical, qualitative, and quantitative research, as well as assessment and its relationship to research. Practical and affordable, this volume will prove essential for students and scholars of music education. It is both an excellent starting point for those looking to gain an orientation to the field, and an up-to-date reference guide to the most effective strategies for experienced researchers, instructors, and pedagogues.
Call Number: MT1 .M427 2006Publication Date: 2006
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning by
The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volume 1: Strategies brings together the best and most current research on methods for music learning, focusing squarely on the profession's empirical and conceptual knowledge of how students gain competence in music at various ages and in different contexts. The collection of chapters, written by the foremost figures active in the field, takes a broad theoretical perspective on current, critical areas of research, including music development, music listening and reading, motivation and self-regulated learning in music, music perception, and movement. The book's companion volume, Applications, builds an extensive and solid position of practice upon the frameworks and research presented here.
Call Number: MT1 .M444 2011Publication Date: 2011
MENC Handbook of Musical Cognition and Development by
Answering fundamental questions about musical preference, ability, and communication, the field of Musical Cognition and Development is critical to the understanding of how music is processed, grasped, and learned. Drawn from the widely acclaimed New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning (Oxford, 2002), the MENC Handbook of Musical Cognition and Development covers the latest theoretical and practical techniques that explain meaning and understanding in music. A distinguished team of internationally recognized experts offers cogent and concise insights providing readers up-to-date information and references. The volume covers the most important topics in this field, including skill development in music performance, research on communicating music expressiveness, the neurobiology of music, the cognitive constraints in the listening process, and music and medicine as applied to neuroscience. Practical and affordable, this volume will prove essential for students and scholars of music education and the psychology of music. It is both an excellent starting point for those looking to gain an orientation to the field, and an up-to-date presentation of the most recent research findings for experienced researchers, instructors, and pedagogues.
Call Number: MT1 .M98736 2006Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education by
Music education takes place in many contexts, both formal and informal. Be it in a school or music studio, while making music with friends or family, or even while travelling in a car, walking through a shopping mall or watching television, our myriad sonic experiences accumulate from theearliest months of life to foster our facility for making sense of the sound worlds in which we live. The Oxford Handbook of Music Education offers a comprehensive overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts. In thisfirst of two volumes, an international list of contributors discuss a range of key issues and concepts associated with music learning and teaching.The volume then focuses on these processes as they take place during childhood, from infancy through adolescence and primarily in the school-age years. Exploring how children across the globe learn and make music and the skills and attributes gained when they do so, these chapters examine the meansthrough which music educators can best meet young people's musical needs. The second volume of the set brings the exploration beyond the classroom and into later life. Whether they are used individually or in tandem, the two volumes of The Oxford Handbook of Music Education update and redefine thediscipline, and show how individuals across the world learn, enjoy and share the power and uniqueness of music.
Call Number: MT1 .O93 2012Publication Date: 2012
A Guide to Research in Music Education, Fifth Edition by
This Fifth Edition presents an updated and practical approach to the research concepts, techniques, and sources from the 4th edition. A new chapter concerning music and technology covers the current available resources for students and researchers. Other updates include separate chapters on philosophical inquiry and aesthetic inquiry becoming integrated, formulating and implementing research problems, and aligning qualitative research with recent concepts and techniques. This is an essential tool for students tackling problems as varied as research proposals, field research strategies, data analysis, and statistical techniques. Researchers will find current sources and concise instruction in the formulation of a research proposal, its implementation, and dissemination of research results.
Call Number: MT1 .P5 2005Publication Date: 2005
Online Resources from the National Association for Music Education (NAfME)
The National Association for Music Education (NAfME), formerly called the Music Educators National Conference (MENC), has numerous resources for current music educators and students pursuing music education at its website. Many are free and open to the public whether or not you are a NAfME member. Explore the tabs at the top of their website or follow the links below for recommended resources.
- Advocacy Resource Center Information about advocacy efforts supported by NAfME and how to become involved
- Copyright Guide for Music Educators Basics of U.S. copyright law as it pertains to music in the classroom
- COVID-19 Resources and News for Music Teachers Information and updates on the COVID-19 crisis with particular relevance to music educators and their students
- Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Access in Music Education Resources Resources for inclusive excellence with citations to many journal articles. See the "Societies and Publications" page of this research guide for Ball State University institutional access to these academic journals or find them in our databases.
- Federated State Associations List of federated music education associations in all fifty U.S. states, including links to their websites
- Music In Our Schools Month (MIOSM) For more than thirty years, March has been officially designated by the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) for the observance of Music In Our Schools Month® (MIOSM®), the time of year when music education becomes the focus of schools across the nation. The purpose of MIOSM is to raise awareness of the importance of music education for all children and to remind citizens that school is where all children should have access to music.
- NAfME Backpack List of resources updated for the current school year
- Research Resources Information about NAfME journals and conferences plus outside information, including links to census reports
- Standards: Overview of the 2014 Music Standards The 2014 Music Standards are all about music literacy. The standards emphasize conceptual understanding in areas that reflect the actual processes in which musicians engage. The standards cultivate a student's ability to carry out the three artistic processes of creating, performing, and responding. These standards provide teachers with frameworks that closely match the unique goals of their specialized classes and are presented in a grade-by-grade sequence.
- Student Resources Resources for music educators to share with their students, including scholarships, competitions, national honor ensembles, and information about Music In Our Schools Month®.
- Webinars from the NAfME Online Professional Learning Community Information and links to upcoming and past webinars and town halls on a variety of music education topics. Many webinars are free whether or not you are a NAfME member.