This is the "Background Information" page of the "African American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African American Studies   Tags: african_americans, art, culture, history, literature, people  

A guide to finding resources in the Ball State University Libraries for African American studies. Access this guide directly at http://bsu.libguides.com/africanamericanstudies
Last Updated: May 30, 2014 URL: http://bsu.libguides.com/africanamericanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference

These titles and more can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Bracken Library.

Cover Art
African American Almanac
Call Number: Reference Collection E185 .A252 2008
A comprehensive survey of African American and Black culture around the world.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American Society
Call Number: Reference Collection E185 .E546 2005
Contains essays about significant people, events, institutions, and activities that have shaped African American culture.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Black Studies
Call Number: Reference Collection E185 .E554 2005
Provides an overview of research activity, conceptualization, and pedagogy of Black Studies scholars.

Black Americans
Call Number: Reference Collection E185.5 .B512 2009
Statistical data relating to African American life and culture.

 

Reference Resources Online

Search Online Reference Sources

Search Ball State University Libraries' online reference databases by topic.  You can also Browse for Reference Sources (Print and Online) by subject.  You can also find more print reference resources in CardCat; go to the Advanced Search and limit the Location to the Reference Collection.

Oxford African American Studies Center

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University Press. Also includes approximately 100 primary source documents with commentaries, 1,000 images with an ongoing image research program, over 200 charts, tables and graphs, maps, timelines, and learning resources for students and teachers.

Oxford Reference Online

Includes over 200 dictionaries and encyclopedias which may be searched or browsed by subject.  Use the quick search box below or go directly to the database here.

Credo Reference

Searchable, browsable collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias, including general works, foreign-language works, thesauri, and specialized subject works in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of over 20 searchable specialized subject encyclopedias and reference books from the Gale publishing company.  Use the quick search box below or go directly to the database here.

 

History

These titles and more can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Bracken Library.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage
Call Number: Reference Collection E185 .A455 2000
Provides information about African history and culture and the African heritage of African Americans.

Cover Art
Black Firsts: 4,000 Ground-breaking and Pioneering Historical Events
Call Number: Reference Collection E185 .B574 2003
Provides information about famous firsts by African Americans in all areas of life and work.

Cover Art
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights
Call Number: Reference Collection E185.61 .E54 2003
Information about various people, events, concepts, organizations, legal hallmarks, and publications important to the struggle for African American civil rights.

 

People & Culture

These titles and more can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Bracken Library.

Cover Art
Great Lives from History: African Americans
Call Number: Reference Collection E185.96 .G736 2011 V.1-5
Biographies for notable African American figures throughout history, including images and bibliographies.

Cover Art
African American Lives
Call Number: Reference Collection E185.96 .A446 2004
Biographical sketches of familiar and less well known African Americans. Cover people from earliest history to the present.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Call Number: Reference Collection BR563.N4 E53 1993
Focuses on the place of religion in African and African American societies.

 

Arts & Literature

These titles and more can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Bracken Library.

Cover Art
African American Writers
Call Number: Reference Collection PS153 .N5 A344 2001
Provides biographical information about African American Writers.

Cover Art
African Americans in the Performing Arts
Call Number: Reference Collection PN2286 .O88 2003
Biographical profiles of 190 African American major and lesser-known performing arts figures.

Cover Art
The 50 Most Influential Black Films: A Celebration of African American Talent, Determination, and Creativity
Call Number: Reference Collection PN1995.9 .N4 B43 2001
Information about significant African American films.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Laura Mulligan
Contact Info
Phone: (765) 285-3378
Send Email
 

Like Us!

Like the Ball State University Libraries on Facebook for all the latest happenings, information about new resources, and much more!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip