LibGuides: Education Resources in Archives and Special Collections: Gen. Education-Manuscripts

Manuscript Collections

By action of the Board of Trustees in 1979, the collection of local history materials at Archives and Special Collections was named after Althea L. Stoeckel, Ball State University Professor of History from 1960-1978. These collections contain a wealth of materials concerning Muncie Education. The following are descriptions of these relevant collections with links to online finding aids.

Hurley Goodall Papers, 1946-99 (MSS 90)
Contains personal records from involvement in community activities and his participation in state and local government. Goodall was the first African American to serve on the Muncie Community Schools Board of Education (1978-79)
Schools-City of Muncie Collection, 1874-1991 (MSS 94)
Contains personnel directories (1911-89), annual reports (1874-75, 1928-31, 1987-91), budget information (1937-38, 1941, 1957), commencement information (1966, 1977, 1985),
more...less...
Delaware County Committee for the Reorganization of School Corporations Comprehensive Plan (1959-61), newsletters (1961, 1988-89), progress reports, proposals, status report (1985-87), and publications.
Richard A. Greene Collection, 1945-1983 (MSS 1)
Collection includes all of Greene's "Our Neighborhood" newspaper columns, which appeared in the Muncie Star from 1945 to 1983.
Muncie Neighborhood Profile, 1993 (MSS 144)
Contains a 1993 study and analysis of Muncie, Indiana, neighborhoods conducted by Ball State University students in PLAN 302, Neighborhood Analysis Studio, in the Department of Urban Planning.
more...less...
The study consisted of a housing survey, demographic analysis, and neighborhood perceptions survey. Eighteen neighborhoods were studied, including South Central Muncie. This study was conducted in later years and made available online. The URL is http://www.bsu.edu/web/copc/neighborhood/studies/main.html.
Black Muncie History Project Records (MSS 33)
This collection includes information related to the history of African Americans in Muncie. Included are oral history interviews with African American residents, the publication, “A History of Negroes in Muncie,” information on black churches, and th
more...less...
The oral history interviews are available online as part of the Middletown Digital Oral History Collection in the Digital Media Repository.
Other Side of Middletown/Virginia Ball Project (MSS 254)
his collection consists of the original taped interviews, notes and tape logs from the oral history interviews conducted by Ball State University students for the book The Other Side of Middletown: Exploring Muncie’s African American Community in 2004.
more...less...
Original taped interviews and transcripts are available in R 254. The interviews from this collection are available online as part of the Middletown Digital Oral History Collection in the Digital Media Repository.
Middletown III Papers
This collection consists of the records of Middletown III research conducted in the late 1970s including survey forms, survey notes, working papers, computer tapes, problem identification records, and coding forms.
more...less...
The files of information are divided into the following categories: American Family; Women; Government and Service; Getting a Living; Religion; Community Survey; High School Survey; Black Middletown.
Ned Griner Collection, 1880-1986 (MSS 261)
Collection consists of Griner's research material for his book, Gas Boom. Bulk of the collection are news clippings from the late 1800s, including the Whitely neighborhood.

Small Manuscript Collections

The Stoeckel Archives of Local History Materials contains small manuscript collections of one or two folders of items as well as the larger manuscript collections described in the guide.

A Report to the Muncie Family on the Who, What, When, Where, Why of the Muncie City Schools (SC 307)
Muncie Schools (SC 276)
Newspaper clippings and other miscellaneous items related to Muncie schools.
Muncie Community Schools Status Report (SC 309)
2004
Indiana School Directories (SC 1949-1954)
The Muncie section of the Indiana School Directory.