This is the "Books" page of the "Early Books and Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early Books and Newspapers  

A guide to finding early books and newspapers available in the Ball State University Libraries and on the World Wide Web. Access this guide directly at http://bsu.libguides.com/earlybooksandnews
Last Updated: May 8, 2014 URL: http://bsu.libguides.com/earlybooksandnews Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Early Books in the University Libraries Collections

Early books and newspapers in the Ball State University Libraries collections may be found using CardCat's Early Books and Newspapers Finder.  You may search by keyword, author, title, or subject, and can either choose a particular publication year or designate a range (e.g. 1880-1885).  This search will also retrieve results available digitally through Hathi Trust.

Early Books on the World Wide Web

  • Google Books:
    A collection that gives users both full and limited access to millions of books and magazines. In order to view early books use the Advanced Search Features to limit to "full view" only and publication date.
  • Hathi Trust
    The Hathi Trust provides full-text access to over 350,000 public domain titles.
  • The Internet Archive
    A collection of over 2,283,386 texts, audio, moving images, software and archived web pages.
  • Project Gutenberg
    A collection of over 100,000 public domain titles.
  • Perseus Digital Library
    Perseus Digital Library of Tufts University is an evolving digital library featuring a wide range of materials and constantly updated with new content. Current works include modern English Literature, classics and science papers.
  • University of Michigan Digital Library Texts
    The University of Michigan's Digital Library Texts contains over 30,000 full text documents ranging from the 16th century to the present.
  • British Library Virtual Books
    Contains full-text digitized texts, treasures of the British Library from Henry VIII’s Psalter to Leonardo da Vinci’s Codex Arundel.
  • Oxford Text Archive
    A collection of thousands of full-text, free titles in over 25 different languages.
  • The Online Books Page
    A collection of online books that offers full-text access to over 30,000 English language works.
  • International Children's Digital Library
    The International Children's Digital Library provides access to more than 4,300 books, both old and new, in more than 50 languages. Over 2,000 items were published prior to 1900.
  • University of Toronto Libraries Books Online
    A collection of nearly 900 full-text, free titles.
  • Penn State University’s Electronic Classics Series Site
    A collection of cultural and literary classics from nearly 100 different authors.
  • Historic Children's Books: Digital Media Repository
    The Historic Children's Books digital collection includes monographs published during the 19th and 20th centuries for youth. The books feature songs, rhymes, games, fairy tales, histories, and morality tales for children.
  • Chapbooks: Digital Media Repository
    The Digital Media Repository offers full text access to 173 Chapbooks with subjects ranging from moral instruction to the ABCs to advertisements for patent medicines and soap. Many have colored paper covers, some are hand sewn, and others contain hand-colored illustrations.
  • Christian Classics Ethereal Library
    A collection of thousands of Christian classics from patristical writers to modern theologians.

Library Databases

  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
    Key collection of 17th and 18th century American writing, all reproduced online in full-text. Primary sources include texts on early American diplomacy, foreign affairs, government, history, literature, philosophy, and religion. Based on Charles Evans's American Bibliography.
  • English Short Title Catalogue
    The 'English Short Title Catalogue' (ESTC) is an international project established at the British Library in 1977. Its aim is to create a machine-readable bibliography of books, serials, pamphlets and other ephemeral material printed in English-speaking countries from 1473 to 1800, based on the collections of over 1,600 institutions world-wide.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
    Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Great source for background information on major authors and works. Includes biographies and basic literary criticism on more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Key index for articles on literature, language, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing
  • Book Review Digest Retrospective
    Provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Covers only the years 1905-1982.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Steve Duecker
Contact Info
(765) 285-3326
Send Email
 

Follow Us!

Follow the Ball State University Libraries on Facebook for all the latest happenings, information about new resources, and much more!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip