Jackson Harmeyer, Music Librarian
Bracken Library
Lower Level, BL 087
Questions? Chat with a Librarian
Welcome to the Choral Music Research Guide! This guide will help singers, conductors, and listeners of choral music discover the many resources available in the print Music Collection and online databases. Start your research at the Reference Sources page where you can access Oxford Music Online as well as browse print reference books. Next learn how to find Books, Articles, and Scores on OneSearch and through various online databases. Also browse books recommended by the Music Librarian. At the Listen to Audio and Watch Video pages, access various streaming channels, including Naxos Music Library, and learn about physical holdings in the Music Collection.
Several specialized pages complete this guide. They include Organizations which lists ensembles and professional societies dedicated to choral singing. Choral Conducting introduces resources on conducting technique and works by and about notable choral conductors. Texts and Translations points toward resources on choral texts, giving special emphasis to the Bach cantatas. Spirituals looks at the traditional singing of African Americans as well as its modern arrangements. Know of a resource not included in this guide? Feel free to email the Music Librarian and they will add it. Or, suggest an item for purchase, if it is a resource not currently owned by University Libraries.
Library Quick Links
- Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by live chat, email, text, or phone, or schedule a reference appointment.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or another item not available through Ball State University Libraries.
- Libraries Workshops on MusicSee what sessions on music Ball State University Libraries has planned. Email your music librarian to suggest a workshop topic.
- Music DatabasesSpecialty databases and some general databases with significant music content, including Oxford Music Online, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, and Naxos Music Library.
- Music JournalsBrowse serials focusing on music and see access options, in-print or online.
- OneSearchLaunch a comprehensive search of University Libraries collections, including physical holdings and items with online access. Use filters to narrow results.
- Reading Lists (Course Reserves)Look for library materials reserved for your use by your professors.
- Research Guides on MusicFind a comprehensive list of research guides on musical topics created by Ball State University Libraries.
- Suggest Materials for PurchaseBelieve a book, score, or media item belongs in our collections? Suggest we purchase it here.