Eleanor Roosevelt Radio Address
To learn more about this resource, view the item in the Elearnor Roosevelt Speech Collection in the Digital Media Repository.
Introduction
A term first used by the financier Bernard Baruch in 1947 and popularized by the journalist Walter Lippmann, the Cold War refers to the confrontation of the superpowers (the US and the Soviet Union) and their allies from the 1940s to the 1990s. The Cold War involved ideological, military, and economic rivalry without resort to open warfare. USSR president Mikhail Gorbachev brought the Cold War to an end by convincing U.S. President Ronald Reagan of his sincerity by making agreements with the US for arms control and reductions, and by withdrawing support from Third World revolutionary regimes and from the communist parties of Eastern Europe, thus allowing the revolutions of 1989-91 to take place. The collapse of the Soviet Union completed the process.
Source: A Dictionary of Contemporary History - 1945 to the present. Oxford: Blackwell Publishers, 1999. s.v. "Cold War."
DMR Subject Search
Use links below to search military subjects across the entire Digital Media Repository.
DMR Collections
The Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository contains the collection listed below pertaining to the Cold War, 1940s-1990s. To browse all Cold War materials available in the DMR click here.
- Cantigny First Division Oral HistoriesThe Cantigny First Division Oral Histories digital collection includes high definition video oral history interviews with veterans of the U.S. Army's First Infantry Division, commonly known as the 'Big Red One.'
- Eleanor Roosevelt Speech CollectionThe Eleanor Roosevelt Speech Collection includes an audio recording and accompanying transcript that document Eleanor Roosevelt's speech to a convocation in Assembly Hall at Ball State Teachers College (now Ball State University) in Muncie, Indiana, on May 6, 1959.
- Vietnam Era Veterans Oral HistoriesThe Vietnam War Era Veterans Oral Histories digital collection includes 26 oral histories conducted by students from Michael W. Doyle's HIST 499 Oral History Workshop course in Fall 2009.