LibGuides: Nursing: Finding Books, Videos, Etc.

Nursing videos: DVD & VHS

Most videos (both VHS and DVD) are located in the lower level of Bracken Library in the Education, Music and Media (EMM) unit. However, the Science Library has a small collection of DVDs behind the counter which is listed below along with selected titles from EMM.

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
ONLINE
more...less...
Includes step-by-step demonstrations of appropriate examination techniques for each specific
body system covered (e.g. abdomen, breast and axillae, neck vessels and heart, head, eyes,
and ears, motor system and reflexes, etc.). Provides rationales as well as detailed explanations
for every procedure.
Effective communication: the helping interview. Basic components, helper qualities, and attending skills
DVD VIDEO 3153
more...less...
Illustrates effective communication techniques necessary for nursing professionals including body position, eye contact, observation and active listening.
Jarvis physical examination & health assessment
DVD VIDEO 5220-5233 (14 vols.)
Living old
DVD VIDEO 3208
more...less...
Examines the fastest growing segment of the U.S. population--those over 85. While some are living longer and healthier lives, thanks to medical advances, for many this longevity also means physical decline, less available caregivers, and an overburdened healthcare system.
Nurse Theorists: Portraits of Excellence
ONLINE
more...less...
This series explores the life work and stories of 16 women who are widely regarded as nursing's premiere scholars. Each program featuring a modern theorist includes video interviews in which the theorist discusses her life, the evolution of her work and its impact on nursing practice and education. The CD, DVD and Online versions of the programs also contain a bibliography of the theorists' writings and a resource list of helpful websites and organizations. Completing the series is information about the life and work of Florence Nightingale.
Obstetrical nursing: pain control
DVD VIDEO 5833
more...less...
Describes how the body responds to pain during labor and discusses the different pain relief techniques and medications that are available.
Prevention and screening
DVD VIDEO 2151
more...less...
Highlights prevention models that have led to reductions in the incidence of cancer by changes in behavior and medical procedures. Demonstrates the effectiveness of the PSA test in screening for prostate cancer, the discontinuation of tobacco and alcohol use in preventing cancer, and efforts to protect workers from cancer-causing carcinogens. Features commentary by different people's approaches to being diagnosed with cancer, and commentary by researchers and medical scientists

Find Books

When searching for books and materials, use the following search terms, as relevant:

nursing or nurse, health care, allied health, medicine, primary care, geriatric nursing , pediatric nursing, rn or registered nurse

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A small collection of ebooks from EBSCO.
Description: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) provides electronic access to books on a variety of subjects. It includes scholarly and popular works as well as fiction and children's literature.
Time Period: 1900's to Present
Sources: Contains nearly 5,000 books.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Citations
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCOhost
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
A tool for discovering the resources in the University Libraries collections. The simple search box allows researchers to discover credible and reliable library content in one simple search and see results in a relevancy-ranked list. Researchers can access full-text content when available, locate items in the libraries' collections, or request items through interlibrary loan if necessary.
Description: OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Time Period: 1600 to Present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Government Documents, Journal Articles, Books
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search WorldCat for titles held by libraries all over the U.S. and across the world. Once you find a title, use Interlibrary Loan services to request that it be sent to you at Ball State University.
Description: WorldCat is the collected catalog of materials (such as books) owned more than 54,000 libraries worldwide. Great for exhaustive searches for books on a topic. Look for the "Request via interlibrary loan" link in WorldCat records to borrow items from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Use the "Check OneSearch" link in the record to see if we have book first.
Time Period: Antiquity-present
Sources: over 43,000 libraries
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Books, etc.)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:Books, videos, computer software, music, etc.
Information Included: Citations only
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: OCLC
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

WorldCat.org
A free version of the WorldCat database (listed above) that provides basic information about titles and what libraries own them.