Skip to main content

African American Studies

A guide to finding resources in the Ball State University Libraries for African American studies. Access this guide directly at http://bsu.libguides.com/africanamericanstudies

Laura Mulligan

Laura Mulligan
Contact:
Bracken Library 102
765-285-3378
lmulligan@bsu.edu

Library Services

Reference Resources Online

Search Online Reference Sources

Search Ball State University Libraries' online reference databases by topic.  You can also Browse for Reference Sources (Print and Online) by subject.  You can also find more print reference resources in CardCat; go to the Advanced Search and limit the Location to the Reference Collection.

Oxford African American Studies Center

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University Press. Also includes approximately 100 primary source documents with commentaries, 1,000 images with an ongoing image research program, over 200 charts, tables and graphs, maps, timelines, and learning resources for students and teachers.

Oxford Reference Online

Includes over 200 dictionaries and encyclopedias which may be searched or browsed by subject.  Use the quick search box below or go directly to the database here.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of over 20 searchable specialized subject encyclopedias and reference books from the Gale publishing company.  Use the quick search box below or go directly to the database here.

 

 

 

General Reference

These titles and more can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Bracken Library.

History

These titles and more can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Bracken Library.

People & Culture

These titles and more can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Bracken Library.

Arts & Literature

These titles and more can be found in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Bracken Library.