Subject Guide
Key Information
Key information about the building or site can be used as keywords in a search.
- building name [Chartres Cathedral, Machu Picchu]
- name of designer [Borromini, Boullée]
- location [Greece, Italy, India, Athens, Thebes, Paestum, Petra]
- culture or people [Harappans, Minoan]
- time period [ancient, Hellenic, 5th century, Byzantine, Roman]
- style [Mannerist, High Gothic, Elizabethan]
- building type [pyramids, temples, mosques, bath houses]
Search Tip:
Most libraries and databases assign Subject Headings to books and articles. Look for subjects like these to use in your OneSearch and article database searches:
- Architecture, Ancient
- Cities and towns, Ancient
- Indus civilization
- Islamic architecture
- Middle East--Antiquities
- Mediterranean Region--Antiquities
- Egypt--Antiquities
Research Resources
- OneSearchSearch for books, DVDs, building material samples, and other materials in the University Libraries and articles in select databases.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Key database in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. Also covers Archaeology, Decorative Arts, Interior Design, and Furniture. Some linked full text is included.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Index Full Text, a key database for art, provides full text articles from more than 300 titles. Of the 600 titles indexed, 280 are peer reviewed. The database also covers subjects such as interior design, costume design, architecture and landscape architecture. Art Index Full Text indexes titles back to 1984 and contains the full text of articles beginning in 1994.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other institutions. Note: If you log into one of the Ball State University Libraries databases before you go to Google Scholar, you can use Find It @ BALL STATE to find articles discovered while using Google Scholar. Although the red FindIt@BALL STATE button will not appear, you will see text to the right of many of the results that says FindIt@BALL STATE.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts indexes articles that cover world history from the 15th century forward, including military history, women's history, and the history of education. The database includes some linked full text and searches can be limited to articles about a specified historical period.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available. Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from the JSTOR database, in PDF format.
- More Architecture DatabasesBuildingGreen, JSTOR, America: History & Life, and more.
Citations
Harvard Reference Style
For your Research Project, Prof. Barry is requiring a bibliography in the Harvard Reference Style.